Payclip - disable credit cards

Hi
I’m a very small business owner, and have a payclip for taking payments at markets. I can’t afford to take the transaction fee for credit cards on myself.
Even tho I have signage everywhere saying eftpos for debit cards only (and mention there is a surcharge for credit cards), and ask people if they are using a credit card, some people have cheekily used a credit card when paying (and I can’t tell as the cards look the same often!), and I don’t know until I see the fees pop up.
Can I disable credit cards on my payclip all together? Or have it add the transaction fee as a step on the payclip when it detects a credit card?
Thanks.

Hi Rachael, you can’t disable the acceptance of credit cards on PayClip. You incur merchant service fees for credit card transactions and contactless transactions, including those made on scheme debit cards. You can disable contactless transactions in the PayClip app if you wish. In regards to surcharging, please ensure you’re following BNZ’s terms and conditions in relation to surcharging. You can find these on page 6 of our merchant agreement www.bnz.co.nz/merchantagreement

As a fellow small business operator, my advice would be to accept credit cards and do not charge a surcharge. View merchant fees - which are under 3% for Payclip - as a way to increase business.

Yes you should be able to. The bank should allow you to. My advice would be write back t the bank saying you will not be paying any credit card fees, if they cannot disable it and cc: Reserve Bank of NZ. You can file a report with RBNZ

As of now disable paywave and

1. For a physical device - remove the button from the payclip device or glue a metal bracket on top of it.
  2. For a touch screens find the way to block the areas on screen. They are like shop display mode. Very easy to achieve in iphones. Give it a go and let me know

LOL.